Solar System

  • The planets and the sun are located in a solar system called the Milky Way.


Solar System

  • Our solar system is located in the galaxy named Milky Way. The sun is the centre of the solar system.

Members of the Solar System

  • The solar system is made up of the sun, planet, natural satellites, asteroid, meteoroid and comet.
  • There are 8 planets in our Solar System. 
  • The  sequences of the planet in our solar system
  • The order of the planets:-

Mercury → Venus → Earth→ Mars → Jupiter → Saturn → Uranus → Neptune

  • Natural satellites are natural objects that revolve around a planet. The moon is the natural satellites of the Earth. 
  • Meteoroids are smaller pieces of rocks from asteroids collision. 

The temperature of the Planet

  • The sun is the source of heat in our solar system. The temperature of the sun is very high. 

The closer the planet to the sun, the higher the temperature of the planet. 

  • Venus is the planet with the highest temperature. This is because it has a thick atmosphere and its location is close to the sun. 
  • The atmosphere is the gas layers that covered the planets.

Orbit of Planets

  • The path of our planets is called the orbit.
  • An orbit is an elliptical imaginary path of a planet that goes around the Sun in space.
  • Each planet and moon in the solar system moves in its own orbit. 

Revolution Time of the Planet

  • The time taken for each planet to revolves around the sun is different. 
The time of the earth to complete one revolution around the sun is one year. The time taken for the moon to complete one revolution around the earth is one month.
  • As the distance between a planet and the sun increases, the time that is taken to complete one revolution also increases. This is because the planet's orbit is bigger when the distance between the planet and the sun increases.